Ask a crew where to find the rule for receptacles behind a kitchen island and you will see three different things on three phones. One electrician has the actual code text open. Another has a reference app with a table that looks close enough. The third is reading a forum post from 2014. All three call what they have an “NEC app”.
That is the problem with the search for the best NEC code app. The app stores mix three very different products under the same words: apps that give you the code itself, apps built on the code’s tables, and apps that teach you the code. Pick the wrong kind and you get a confident answer from the wrong edition, or a summary where you needed the exact wording of a section.
Study smarter with VoltageLab
Built for electricians, apprentices, and electrical engineers who want faster practice and better exam prep.
⭐️ Join thousands of electricians upgrading their skills
This guide sorts the NEC code apps a US electrician can actually use by what they give you, what they cost and which code edition they run on. Every price, rating and platform here was checked on the US App Store, Google Play and nfpa.org on October 22, 2026. For calculators, bending and apprentice hour logs, see our wider roundup of the best electrician apps.
Quick Answer
The best NEC code app for reading the code itself is NFPA LiNK, the National Fire Protection Association’s own digital library. It has the full NFPA 70 text, current and previous editions side by side, search and an AI assistant, for $129.99 a year. If you only need to read the current code, NFPA’s free access gives you the 2026 NEC read-only, at no cost, after you sign in.
Most electricians pair the code text with one field app: Ugly’s Electrical References ($12.99, 2026 NEC) for tables and formulas, or Electrical Calc Elite ($19.99) for edition-matched sizing math. To learn the code section by section, the free Electrical & Electrician App quizzes you by code area with the section behind every answer.
Key Takeaways
- Only NFPA publishes the full text of the NEC. Every other “NEC app” gives you tables, summaries, calculators or quizzes built on it
- NFPA LiNK costs $129.99 a year ($116.99 for NFPA members) and has a 14-day free trial with no card needed
- NFPA’s free access shows the 2026 NEC read-only after a free sign-in, which is enough to look up a section
- An app is only right if it runs on the NEC edition your jurisdiction has adopted, so check the edition before the rating
- Electrical Calc Elite includes ten NEC editions, but its 2026 tables are a separate one-time in-app purchase
- The most-rated free code quiz, Electrical Code-A-Day, has not been updated since May 2022
- No code app gets you through the licensing exam room door. Most state exams allow only the printed NEC
What an NEC code app actually is

Strip away the icons and every app that calls itself an NEC app does one of three jobs:
Study smarter with VoltageLab
Built for electricians, apprentices, and electrical engineers who want faster practice and better exam prep.
Join thousands of electricians upgrading their skills
- Code text. The full wording of NFPA 70 — articles, sections, exceptions, informational notes and tables — searchable on your phone. This is what you quote to an inspector. Only NFPA publishes it, through NFPA LiNK and its free access viewer.
- Code-based reference and calculators. Tables, formulas and sizing calculators built from the code, usually with the section number printed next to the answer. Ugly’s, Electrical Calc Elite and Mike Holt’s Electrical Toolbox are in this group. They are faster than the book for the jobs they cover, and silent on everything else.
- Code learning. Quizzes, study plans and explanations organized by code area. These teach you where things live in the book and why the rule exists. The Electrical & Electrician App, exam prep apps and Electrical Code-A-Day are here.
None of the three replaces the others. A calculator will size a conductor in seconds but cannot tell you whether the location counts as wet. The code text can, but it will not do the arithmetic. A learning app will not answer a jobsite question at all, but it is how you get fast at finding answers in the other two.
What “NEC” and “NFPA 70” mean on an app listing
- NEC — National Electrical Code, a registered trademark of NFPA
- NFPA 70 — the document number for the NEC. The two names mean the same book
- Edition year — 2017, 2020, 2023 or 2026. The NEC is revised every three years
- “Not affiliated with NFPA” — standard wording on third-party apps. It means the app does not contain the official code text
If a third-party app claims to contain “the full NEC”, read the listing again. What it usually contains is the table of contents, selected tables or paraphrased summaries. Our explainer on what the NEC stands for covers how NFPA 70 is written and adopted.
Best NEC code apps compared

Here is how the apps worth considering line up, grouped by the job they do:
| App | What you get | Price | Where it runs |
|---|---|---|---|
| NFPA LiNK | Full NEC text, current and previous editions, AI search | $129.99/yr, 14-day free trial | Any device, in the browser |
| NFPA free access | 2026 NEC, read-only | Free, sign-in required | Browser |
| Ugly’s Electrical References | Tables, formulas, NEMA configs, calculators (2026 NEC) | $12.99 one-time (iOS) | iOS, Android |
| Electrical Calc Elite | Sizing calculators on 10 NEC editions, table cited | $19.99, 2026 tables extra | iOS, Android |
| Mike Holt’s Electrical Toolbox | Conductor, protection and EGC sizing | Free | iOS, Android |
| Electrical & Electrician App | Code study by area, quizzes citing the section | Free, Pro from $3.99 | iOS, Android |
| MasterElec – NEC Code Guide | Voice-asked NEC references and calculators, offline | Free (5 voice queries/day), Pro subscription | iOS |
| Electrical Code-A-Day | 366 daily code questions | Free | iOS |
NFPA LiNK is the only product here that puts the code itself on your phone. NFPA’s page lists more than 1,500 codes and standards in an individual plan, side-by-side comparison of the current edition with up to five previous editions, bookmarks, notes and project notebooks, offline use, and CASI, an AI assistant that answers code questions with NFPA citations. It runs in a web browser — NFPA lists Chrome, Safari, Edge and Firefox — and we found no current NFPA LiNK listing on the US App Store or Google Play. The individual plan is $129.99 a year, $116.99 for NFPA members, and the subscription is non-refundable, so use the 14-day free trial first.
Ugly’s Electrical References is the digital version of the pocket book electricians have carried for over 35 years. The 2026 edition reflects the 2026 NEC and adds a summary of code changes from 2020, 2023 and 2026. It has 1,509 US App Store ratings at 4.4. Electrical Calc Elite is a one-purchase calculator that prints the code table behind each answer and lets you pick the NEC edition your inspector enforces, from 1999 to 2026. Mike Holt’s Electrical Toolbox is the free choice for conductor, overcurrent and grounding conductor sizing.
MasterElec is new: you ask a question out loud, such as the ampacity of 3/0 copper, and it answers offline. It had 9 ratings when we checked, so it has little track record yet. Electrical Code-A-Day has the biggest following of any code quiz, 9,318 ratings at 4.8, but its last update was May 2022, before the 2023 NEC.
The wrong-edition trap: an app answers from the edition it was built on, not the one your jurisdiction enforces. A table value or rule from the 2023 NEC can be wrong on a job in a 2026 state, and the reverse. The inspector enforces the edition the AHJ has adopted, with its local amendments. If the app does not show its edition on the answer screen, you cannot tell which code you are reading.
Which NEC edition does each code app use?

Edition support is the column app listings hide the most, and the one that decides whether an answer is usable. This is what each listing says:
| App | NEC editions | Last updated (US App Store) | Ratings |
|---|---|---|---|
| NFPA LiNK | Current edition plus up to 5 previous | Web platform | — |
| NFPA free access | 2026, read-only | Web | — |
| Ugly’s Electrical References | 2026 | June 2026 | 4.4 (1,509) |
| Electrical Calc Elite | 1999 to 2026 (2026 as an in-app purchase) | September 2026 | 4.7 (126) |
| Mike Holt’s Electrical Toolbox | Not stated on the listing | July 2026 | 4.6 (196) |
| Electrical & Electrician App | NEC, plus CEC, BS 7671, AS/NZS 3000, IEC 60364 | October 2026 | 5.0 (7) |
| MasterElec – NEC Code Guide | Not stated on the listing | September 2026 | 4.6 (9) |
| Electrical Code-A-Day | Not stated; predates the 2023 NEC | May 2022 | 4.8 (9,318) |
How to match an app to your code edition
Step 1 — find your adopted edition. Check your state licensing board or the local building department. Some states adopt statewide and others leave it to cities and counties. Our NEC edition comparison covers what changed between 2017 and 2026.
Step 2 — check the app’s edition before you install it. Read the listing and the latest release notes. If neither names an edition, assume it is not current.
Step 3 — set the edition in the app. Apps that support more than one edition, such as Electrical Calc Elite, use whichever one you select. Set it before your first answer, not after.
Step 4 — test it against the book. Look up three answers you already know, such as an ampacity from Table 310.16, in the app and in the codebook. If any disagree, the app is on a different edition or has a bug.
Study smarter with VoltageLab
Built for electricians, apprentices, and electrical engineers who want faster practice and better exam prep.
⭐️ Join thousands of electricians upgrading their skills
Step 5 — recheck at every code cycle. When your state adopts a new edition, confirm the app has caught up before you rely on it again. The top 2026 NEC changes are the rules most likely to catch out an app that has not.
The one that catches everyone: buying an app that “supports” an edition is not the same as owning it. Electrical Calc Elite’s listing names the 2026 NEC among its ten editions, but its release notes add the 2026 code tables as a separate one-time in-app purchase. If you work in a 2026 state, confirm that the 2026 edition is unlocked and selected before you size anything.
What a code app can do for you — and what it cannot

A code app is a fast way to the right page. It is not the authority having jurisdiction, and it is not allowed everywhere you might need it.
Good uses
- Pulling up the exact wording of a section when an inspector questions an install
- Comparing what a rule said in the last edition with the current one
- Checking a table value before you order material
- Bookmarking the sections you use every week
- Learning where each topic lives in the book before an exam
- Reading the code on a job with no signal, using offline content
Not a substitute for
- The printed NEC in the licensing exam room — Texas, for example, allows only soft-bound copies of the code book
- Local amendments your city or county adopted on top of the NEC
- Equipment listing and labeling instructions, which NEC 110.3(B) requires you to follow
- The AHJ’s interpretation when a section is open to reading two ways
- An engineer’s design on large or unusual installations
Checking a calculator answer against the code
When a calculator gives you a conductor size, read the code section it cites. A wire size depends on the termination temperature rating in 110.14(C), the small-conductor limits in 240.4(D), ambient temperature and the number of current-carrying conductors in the raceway. An app that skips one of those gives you somebody else’s answer. Our wire gauge chart and voltage drop guide show the full method.
NEC code apps vs the printed codebook vs free access
| Need | Printed NEC | NFPA LiNK | NFPA free access | Reference / calculator app |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full code text | Yes | Yes | Yes, read-only | No |
| Allowed in most exam rooms | Yes | No | No | No |
| Search | Index only | Keyword and AI search | Read in the browser | Within the app’s topics |
| Older editions | Buy each one | Up to 5 previous | Current only | Varies by app |
| Does the math | No | No | No | Yes |
| Cost | Per edition | $129.99 a year | Free | Free to $19.99 |
If you are buying a printed book, our guide to NEC code book editions explains which one to get. Before an exam, practice finding answers in that book under a clock with our free NEC practice test and the NEC exam prep guide. For calculators, conduit bending and apprentice hour logs, our best electrician apps roundup covers the rest of the phone.
Learn the code, not just look it up
Finding a section fast is a skill you build before you need it. The Electrical & Electrician App (also on Android) lets you study the NEC area by area — definitions, branch circuits, feeders, services, overcurrent protection, grounding and bonding — with quizzes that cite the code section behind every answer. It is free to download.
Is a paid NEC code app worth it?
Pros
- Search finds a section in seconds where the index takes minutes
- Side-by-side editions show exactly what changed in a rule
- One NFPA LiNK subscription covers codes beyond the NEC, such as NFPA 70E
- The code is on your phone on every job, not on the truck seat
- One-time apps like Ugly’s and Calc Elite cost less than a single printed book
Cons
- Not allowed in the licensing exam, so you still need the printed book
- NFPA LiNK is non-refundable and bills every year
- Free access already covers occasional lookups in the current edition
Using an NEC code app on the job
Do
- Set the app to your jurisdiction’s adopted edition before the first lookup
- Quote the section number, not the app, when you talk to an inspector
- Download offline content before you go to a site with no signal
- Bookmark the ten sections you use most
- Start with a free trial or free tier for a week before paying
Avoid
- Treating a summary or table as the code wording
- Apps that do not name an edition anywhere
- Apps not updated since before the 2023 NEC
- Forgetting local amendments the app cannot know about
- Studying only on a phone for an open-book, printed-code exam
Frequently asked questions
What is the best NEC code app?
For the code text itself, NFPA LiNK, because it is the only one with the full official NEC, current and previous editions. For tables and formulas in the field, Ugly’s Electrical References. For edition-matched sizing math, Electrical Calc Elite or the free Mike Holt’s Electrical Toolbox. For learning the code area by area, the Electrical & Electrician App.
Is there a free NEC app?
Yes, with limits. NFPA’s free access lets you read the 2026 NEC in your browser after a free sign-in, read-only. Mike Holt’s Electrical Toolbox is a free sizing app, and the Electrical & Electrician App is free to download for code study and quizzes.
How much is NFPA LiNK?
$129.99 a year for an individual plan, or $116.99 for NFPA members, as listed on nfpa.org in October 2026. Team plans start at $639.99 a year for five users. There is a 14-day free trial with no credit card and no auto-renewal.
Is NFPA LiNK an app on iPhone and Android?
NFPA LiNK runs in a web browser on any device, including phones. NFPA lists Chrome 109+, Safari 15+, Edge 126+ and Firefox 115+ as supported. We did not find a current NFPA LiNK listing on the US App Store or Google Play when we checked in October 2026.
Can I use an NEC app during the electrician exam?
Almost never. Most state licensing exams are open-book with the printed NEC and do not allow phones in the testing room. Check the candidate bulletin for your exam, which names the allowed references and code edition.
Do NEC apps have the 2026 code?
Some do. NFPA LiNK and NFPA free access have the 2026 NEC, Ugly’s 2026 edition reflects it, and Electrical Calc Elite offers 2026 tables as an in-app purchase. Several popular apps do not name an edition, and Electrical Code-A-Day has not been updated since 2022.
Is Ugly’s the same as the NEC?
No. Ugly’s is a reference of tables, formulas, diagrams and calculators drawn from the NEC, plus a summary of recent changes. It does not contain the full code text, so for the exact wording of a section you need the NEC itself.
Which app should an apprentice start with?
A free one that teaches you how the code is organized, such as the Electrical & Electrician App, plus NFPA’s free access for reading actual sections. Add a calculator once you are sizing circuits, and pay for NFPA LiNK only if you find yourself in the code text every week.
The bottom line
The best NEC code app depends on which of the three jobs you need done. For the code itself there is one source, NFPA, and its free access covers occasional lookups while NFPA LiNK earns its $129.99 if you read the code every week. For speed in the field, a reference or calculator app on the right edition is worth more than any subscription. For getting fast at the book, a learning app is where to start.
Two checks keep any of them honest: confirm it runs on the edition your jurisdiction has adopted, and test its answers against the codebook until you trust it. For everything else on an electrician’s phone, see our full roundup of the best electrician apps for 2026.
FREE PRACTICE TOOL
Think you'd pass this on a real exam?
Test what you just read with instant-feedback quizzes built around real code questions — not generic trivia.
5
Code standards
10,000+
Active learners
100%
Free to start
Instant explanations on every answer, right or wrong
NEC, BS7671, AS/NZS, CEC, and DIN VDE covered
Bite-sized quizzes you can finish in 5 minutes
No signup required to try your first quiz
No account needed · Takes less than 2 minutes
